About the CPMRA

Professional Staff


Dr. Philip A. Russo, Jr.

Lori B. Libby
Sr. Project Manager

Dr. Mark Morris
Clinical Faculty

Dr. Patrick Haney
Faculty Research Associate,

Dr. Bryan Marshall
Faculty Research Associate,

Phil Russo - Director

Background - Department of Political Science Profile
Dr. Russo has been a Professor of Political Science and Director of the Center since 1985. He conducts research and teaches courses in local government management, public personnel management, survey research, and public policy analysis. Dr. Russo also serves at the Chair of the City of Oxford's Civil Service Commission.


American Society for Public Administration (ASPA)
International City/County Management Association (ICMA)
The International Public Management Association for Human Resources (IPMA-HR)


Ph.D., University of Massachusetts
M.P.A., University of Hartford
B.A., Providence College

Community Involvement

City of Oxford Civil Service Commission, Chair


Lori Libby - Sr. Project Manager

Lori has worked on various projects related to local government management, including: infrastructure planning and financing, long-range and strategic planning, and coordinating qualifications-based selection of design professionals and executive searches for local government management. She is also a member of the Small Communities Environmental Infrastructure Group.


Sr. Project Manager, CPMRA (1995-present)
Project Manager, CPMRA (1992-1995)
Public Management Specialist, CPMRA (1989-1992)
Planner, Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission (OVRDC) (1987-1989)


Ohio Rural Development Partnership (ORDP) - member of Steering Committee and co-chair of Strategic Planning Committee.
Small Communities Environmental Infrastructure Group (SCEIG) - member and co-chair of Curriculum Committee.
On Tap magazine, Editorial Advisory Board - publication of National Drinking Water Clearinghouse.
Ohio Association of Municipal Management Assistants (OAMMA) - membership in professional organization.
Ohio City Management Association (OCMA) - membership in professional organization.


April 10, 1997 - Commendation from OPWC - recognized for leadership and commitment in guiding the activities of District 10 and for fostering its high standards of public service.
July 14, 1999 - ORDP Chairman's Award - presented in appreciation of dedicated leadership as Steering Committee member and as Chair of the Strategic Planning Committee by William N. Morgan, ORDP Chairman.

M.A., Miami University
B.A., Miami University


Mark Morris - Clinical Faculty

Background - Department of Political Science Profile
Beginning in the 2013-14 academic year, Mark holds a Clinical Faculty position. As Clinical Faculty, he has responsibilities in both the CPMRA and the Department of Political Science. He has worked on a variety of CPMRA projects in the areas of executive searches for local governments, personnel policies and procedures, program evaluation, records retention, survey research, and website development. His teaching responsibilities are primarily in courses within the Public Administration major. Mark served two terms (2006-13) as an elected member of the Fairfield City School District's Board of Education and also served as the FCSD representative to the City of Fairfield's Planning Commission (2010-13).

Clinical Faculty, CPMRA & DOPS (2013-present)
Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science (2011-2013)
Sr. Project Manager, CPMRA (2002-2013)
Adjunct Instructor, Department of Political Science (2002-2011)
Project Manager, CPMRA (1999-2002)
Research Associate, CPMRA (1997)
Consumer Credit/Risk Management, Citibank (1983-1993)

American Society for Public Administration (ASPA)
American Political Science Association (APSA)
Ohio School Board Association (OSBA)


Ph.D., Miami University
M.A., San Francisco State University
B.A., Michigan State University

Community Involvement

Board of Education, Fairfield City School District (2006-2013: President - 2006, 2007, & 2008)
Board of Education, Butler Tech (2009)
Citizens for Fairfield Schools (2004 & 2011)
Planning Commission, City of Fairfield (2010-2013)


Pat Haney - Faculty Research Associate

Professor & Interim Chair
Department of Political Science Profile

Ph.D., Indiana University
B.A., The Ohio State University


Bryan Marshall - Faculty Research Associate

Professor, Assistant Chair & Chief Departmental Advisor
Department of Political Science Profile


Ph.D., Michigan State University
M.A., Michigan State University
M.A., University of Toledo
B.A., University of Toledo

©2014 | Center for Public Management and Regional Affairs
2 Harrison Hall | Miami University | Oxford, OH 45056
All rights reserved. Last Updated: January 8, 2014